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DEPARTMENT OF ARKANSAS STATE POLICE  
 “COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE RULES” 

  
RULE 1.0 – ADOPTION; AUTHORITY  
 
The Division of the Arkansas State Police (“Division” or “Arkansas State Police”) 
hereby adopts the following rules for the implementation of the costs for testing 
and re-testing of the Commercial Driver’s License Program (program), as set forth 
in Act 241 of 1989, codified as Ark. Code Ann. §§27-23-101 et seq., as amended, 
including §27-23-108, under Act 256 of 2007, and under the Director’s additional 
authority in Ark. Code Ann. §§25-15-201, et seq., the Arkansas Administrative 
Procedure Act, and other applicable laws. Additional authority is under the 
directive(s) of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, U.S. Department of 
Transportation, to which the State of Arkansas adheres for continuing eligibility 
for receipt of federal highway administration funds. See the Commercial Motor 
Vehicle Safety Act of 1986; and 49 CFR 383.123; under subsection (a) (1), as to “S” 
and “P” driver’s license endorsements. The Division shall, from time to time, make 
and enact other such rules as they become necessary for the effective 
administration of the program.  
  
Rule 2.0 – PURPOSE & PROCEDURES; COSTS; PERMITS; RENEWALS; RE-
TESTS  
These rules will establish and set forth the cost of application and testing for 
the Commercial Driver’s License (CDL). 
  
Rule 2.1 – The initial application for the CDL, which includes knowledge 
examination and skill testing shall be fifty dollars ($50); except as hereinafter 
set out.  
 
Any CDL-1 application form purchased after the effective date of this rule shall 
expire one (1) year from the date of purchase. (The implementation/effective 
date of this portion of Rule 2.1 is November 15, 2013) 
 
Any CDL-1 application form purchased prior to the effective date of this rule 
shall expire one (1) year from the effective date of this rule. (The 
implementation/effective date of this portion of Rule 2.1 is November 15, 2013) 
 
Rule 2.2 - If an applicant fails to pass any portion of the tests on three (3) 
separate dates during the testing process, he/she will be required to purchase 
an additional fifty dollar ($50) application prior to the resumption of testing. 
This section of the rules shall apply any time an applicant accumulates three 
(3) failures on a single application. 
  
Rule 2.3 – CDL holders wishing to obtain additional endorsements by 
knowledge testing must purchase a ten dollar ($10) application per 
endorsement. This application is valid for one (1) administration of the test. If 
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the applicant fails the knowledge test, he/she will be required to purchase an 
additional ten dollar ($10) application prior to the resumption of testing. This 
procedure will apply any time an applicant fails a knowledge test for an 
endorsement. 
  
Rule 2.4 – Upon the renewal of the CDL, the applicants with a Hazardous 
Materials endorsement is required to pass the knowledge test for Hazardous 
Materials. The application fee is the same as outlined in Rule 2.3. 
  
Rule 2.5 – Should a CDL holder elect to obtain a higher class of license, there 
will be an additional skills test in the vehicle class, as well as other 
examinations set forth by statute. This procedure will entail payment of a fifty 
dollar ($50) application fee. 
  
Rule 2.6 - Instruction permits will be issued by the Arkansas State Police for a 
period of six (6) months, with an allowance for one (1) renewal for up to one (1) 
year. There will be no fee for instruction permits.  
 
Rule 2.7 – In the event that the holder of a CDL should have his/her driving 
privileges suspended or revoked for a period of one (1) year or more, he/she 
must submit for full re-test for a CDL and pay the application fee outlined in 
Rule 2.1. 
 
Rule 2.8 – In the event a person fails any knowledge section of the CDL test, 
and wishes to re-test, there will be a one (1) day waiting period before re-
testing. 
  
Rule 3.0 – WAITING PERIODS BEFORE RE-TESTING; LIMITATIONS ON 
TESTING  
In the event a person fails any section of a CDL skills test, and wishes to re-
test, there will be a five (5) day waiting period before re-testing. 
  
Rule 3.1 – All Arkansas State Police CDL examiners, third party CDL 
examiners, part-time or contract CDL examiners will be limited to a maximum 
of five (5) CDL skills tests per day; and one (1) examiner will administer each 
section of the skills test in full sequence until the applicant has successfully 
completed the skills test, or until a failure occurs. 
  
Rule 4.0 EFFECTIVE DATE  
These Rules shall be effective on and after December 1, 2010. The Rules shall 
apply to all payments made for CDL testing on or after December 1, 2010.  
 


