
  Revised July 28, 2021 

 
ARKANSAS STATE POLICE (ASP) 

NEW CONCEALED HANDGUN CARRY LICENSE (CHCL) APPLICATION INFORMATION 
 

PLEASE PRINT AND FILL OUT APPLICATION FROM THE ARKANSAS STATE POLICE 
WEBSITE: 

 

https://www.dps.arkansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/CHCL-Application-July-28-2021-Final.pdf 
 

Paper applications must be completed in ink, however typewritten applications are preferred.   
Incomplete or Illegible documents could lead to denial of the application.  Additionally, 
giving false, inaccurate or incomplete information on the application packet could result in 
license denial and/or criminal charges. 
 

The applicant for an Arkansas concealed handgun carry license must submit the following 
items to the ASP:  
 

1) A properly-completed Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry License Application form 
(preferably on-line) indicating New Application.  Please make a copy of the application 
for your records. You will receive a confirmation/authorization number for your records if 
you apply on-line. If you choose to mail-in your application, the application form can be 
obtained from your instructor.  

 

2) The following fees apply to applications submitted AFTER JULY 28, 2021:   
- 64 years of age and younger - new application fees are $88.25* 

- 65 years of age and older - new application fees are $63.25* 
 

You can pay on-line or in person at ASP Headquarters in Little Rock with a credit card. If 
you mail in your application, you may send a check or money order payable to the 
ARKANSAS STATE POLICE. Do not send cash.  All fees are NON-REFUNDABLE. 

 

3)   Applicants are also responsible for obtaining a complete, classifiable set of fingerprints 
through livescan submission by a harvester. It is strongly suggested that fingerprinting 
be accomplished by a trained fingerprint technician, either through your local law 
enforcement agency or a private fingerprinting business from the listing of fingerprint 
harvesters.  We will provide the fingerprint submission form after the application, 
training certificate and fees are sent into our office (see below). 

 

 4)   A properly completed training certificate from a firearms safety instructor who is    
       registered with the ASP.  The application must be received by this office or completed on-  
       line within six (6) months of the training date.  Timely receipt from the six (6) month    
       training date is determined by the date asp received it, not mailing or postmark date. 
 

Submit application by mail to:  Arkansas State Police, ATTN: CHCL Section, 1 State Police 
Plaza Drive,  Little Rock, AR 72209.  You may also deliver your application packet to 
Arkansas State Police Headquarters at Interstate 30 and Geyer Springs Road (Exit 133) Little 

Rock.  
 
 5)   Once the application is received and payment is verified, a fingerprint submission form 

will be sent to applicant.  Take the form (with confirmation number and name) to a 
fingerprint harvester.  The harvester will then electronically send your fingerprint scans 
to the AFIS section.  Then e-mail, fax or mail a copy of the fingerprint submission form 
back to our office. 

 

** YOUR FIREARMS SAFETY INSTRUCTOR MAY ASSIST YOU WITH QUESTIONS  
ABOUT THE APPLICATION PROCESS OR YOU CAN E-MAIL ANY QUESTIONS TO 

CHCLINFO@ASP.ARKANSAS.GOV  

https://www.dps.arkansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/CHCL-Application-July-28-2021-Final.pdf

